Swimming with the Gentle Giants: Whale sharks

Last Sunday, I had the privilege to swim with the gentle giants of the sea, the Whale sharks. I, of course, want to thank the Climaco – Bernedo Family for bringing me along in this trip. I’m really blessed that this family is part of my life. Thank you! Thank you!

We left Cebu City at 6:00 am and expected to arrive in Oslob at around 8 am which I think we did. When we arrived in Oslob, there was this huge crowd not only in the beach but in the sea as well due to the fact that it was the weekend. I will be giving a few handy tips in the end of this post whenever you decide to visit the sharks.

Thankfully, we were allowed to stay in one of the family friend’s beach house which was perfectly situated to face the beach where the whale sharks are.

When we were there, we were told that there was only one whale shark that has been seen so far compared to the fourteen that I have heard from social media.

It was really chaotic when we were getting into the rafts to see the whale sharks due to the crowd and the officials had no system at all especially in the aspects of safety.

Good thing, when it was our turn to see the sharks, two other whale sharks appeared.

I wanted to be as close as I can to the sharks because I just love the sea and it was a very magnificent creature.

Merman mode. hahahaha

Jude, Tita Cathee, Elysse and Tito Jingle. Thank you! Thank you for bringing me along! 😀

Here are my tips if you have any plans of seeing the gentle giants of the sea.

1. NEVER go on a weekend to avoid the crowd

2. Bring your own life vest. This will be very helpful if the current is too strong especially in this time of year

3. Bring a body board per person if possible so that you will not be in the mercy of the fishermen to see the sharks.

4. Wear a rash guard or better a whole body suit to prevent jelly fish stings

5. Bring a snorkeling set per person

If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to ask and post a comment.

I hope my tips will be helpful in your trip and I can’t wait to see them again soon!

Yours Truly,

N.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Cebu, Events, People, Places

5 responses to “Swimming with the Gentle Giants: Whale sharks

  1. OMG, we’ve been wanting to do thi (especially Anthony)! Thanks for the tips too — They will come in handy when we book our trip!

  2. sounds alot of fun out there! never been to Cebu and thanks to your post i could ask mom and dad to bring me there. great encounter with that big fish! weren’t you scared at all? haha..

    JC
    ferreroandfate.blogspot.com

    • Yes, it really was so much fun if you minus the people. hehe.

      That’s great! When are you planning to Cebu?

      Nope. I just jumped in and swam with the gentle giants. hahaha. Why? What are you scared of?

      N.

  3. Dea

    found it! how succinct! 🙂 thanks N.! talk soon! x

Leave a Reply

