The Couturier’s Apprentice

I didn’t really know what to expect. First of all the opportunity is really amazing. I would be forever grateful to my professors Kenneth Cobonpue and Stella Fernandez for giving me this referral.

When I arrived in his boutique. I didn’t really know what to expect. The exterior of the boutique reminded of how a French Boutique would look like and then as you get in, it will merge a bit with Asian Home Accessories. I really found it odd at how there was no fashion books around but mostly interior, history and architecture. Later on, I would understand why.

One of the first to welcome me was his dog, Paris. I think he was a shitzu. I was playing with him and finding his tickle spot like any other dog I ever played with. And finally, there he is, Cary Santiago. He was totally shocked that I was playing with Paris because mostly he bites people well except for me. ๐Ÿ˜€

His office was really amazing especially his desk. It was an Archaic Asian door that was placed in a glass casing. I loved our conversation and a little bit of history of Cary Santiago of how he became of what is today. One of the most wanted or the Couturier in the Philippines.

His work ethic and craftsmanship in what he puts in his work is truly inspirational and most of all, clean. When I went to his workshop, I felt like I was in this fantasy of articulate wedding gowns each one done by hand and nothing on machine. I was even able to see his upcoming collection for his September Fashion Show. I’m really sorry but I won’t be able to say any details about the collection because of confidentiality but I must say, it is something to look forward to.

Remember when I got in, there was no fashion books. The reason behind is he doesn’t like looking at them for inspiration. My analysis on this is that you might end up making a mutation thus loosing that sense of originality.

But I will not be starting to learn how he makes his gowns yet, instead I will be starting from bottom going up. So, he assigned me to design shoes for his collaboration withย Maldita. OMG!

I’m really blessed and lucky.

Remember readers, if you work hard, have the talent, resources and time, anything is possible. One of the things I learned from my new mentor.

.N.

6 Comments

Filed under Design, Fashion, People

6 responses to “The Couturier’s Apprentice

  1. wow! that sounds very interesting, wow! basin naa naka imoh own line: de San Pedro series

  2. coooooooool. what happens to your job sa anthill? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Nike!! Please allow me to use these pictures for my class report about THE Cary Santiago.. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

